My Favourite Top Ten Books

books

I have always loved books, I have avidly collected many over the years, though lately they have been mainly theological, due to my burning desire to study the Christian Bible. Picking my top ten is quite hard, however, but I think that the following list is a little insight into some of my recent book reading choices.

  1. The Everlasting Man by G.K. Chesterton.

I chose this as my number one book because of its influence on my writing and the sheer   enjoyment I had in reading it recently. One of those books that impact you and leave you changed forever.

  1. The Psalms: Poetry on Fire (The Passion Translation)

This is a beautiful paraphrase of the Psalms; which speaks to us in our own experiences of lament and praise to God.

  1. Introverts in the Church by A. McHugh.

As an introvert who does church, this was an eye-opener to read, a must for all extroverts who do church!

  1. Water from an Ancient Well by K. McIntosh.

Easy to dip into Celtic spirituality at any chapter and has some lovely illustrations.

  1. The Big Book of Christian Mysticism by C. McColman.

Very informative on many levels (not too heavy a read) and enlightening of our Christian mystical heritage and of the great cloud of witnesses who have gone before us.

  1. Fire of the North: The Life of St. Cuthbert by D. Adam.

This extraordinary account of supernatural miracles which surrounded the life of St. Cuthbert has lovely prayers at the end of each chapter.

  1. The Small Woman by A. Burgess.

I love to read the account of Gladys Aylward’s missionary work in China, very special and inspiring.

  1. Quantum Glory by P. Mason.

This mind blowing book covers insights into the world of science and faith, exploring and explaining some confounding facts in a very readable and relevant way.

  1. The Fire Within by Father Dubay

This fairly lengthy book covers a great deal of ground on Christian Mysticism and wonderful to read.

And finally…

  1. More by S. Ponsonby

I always yearned for more of the Spirit in my Christian walk, and this book is a gem. Not only is there more but we can have more too. In fact, any of this author’s books, are like treasure waiting to be discovered.

 

I wonder if you might have read any of these books too, or what you like to read. Please feel free to comment, it would be nice to hear from any fellow avid book readers and any recommendations you might have.

little-girl-reading-book

The End.

Leave a Reply

